Charlie and Alysse: NYC Engagement

In 2010, my sophomore year of college, I met the one and only Alysse Papkoff through a mutual friend (looking at you KP). Back then, I didn’t even realize we’d become friends, much less the kind of forever friends that plan weddings together and talk weekly about things that mean nothing and things that mean everything. I probably have more text’s than I can count over the past few years from her that say something like “Lets have a wedding” or “Who’s gonna get married so we can have a wedding?” (a great excuse for the whole college gang to be in the same place at the same time). So, when Charlie proposed to Alysse outside of their King Street Apartment in Soho, the only necessary response was “WE’RE HAVING A WEDDING!”

Not to make this an Alysse love fest, but…I love Alysse, so that’s what’s going to happen. (You’re fine too, Charlie, but I’ll get to that in a second.) There are SO many reasons why I value my friendship with Alysse. First of all, she’s hysterical – just ask her. In truth, I have never left time spent with her without laughter. Even times that are tearfilled or difficult, she finds a way to get a laugh out of others. She’s strong. She’s had more than a lot of people’s lifetime of hardships, but she absolutely makes it through beautifully, gracefully and with admirable strength. She’s kind. She’s dramatic (in the best way). She’s a beauty for sure! She make sure I feel valuable as a friend and as a person, so I’m sure she offers that to others, and that is an invaluable quality to have in a friend.

I first heard Charlie’s name over 5 years ago in a Rugged Ware House shoe aisle (you may have heard this story, but i’ll tell it again for the newbies). Alysse declared she may buy this pair of Vans (or converse..it’s up for debate) for her boyfriend, Charlie, to which Amanda and I replied. “What?!” – and that’s how we found out she had a boyfriend, in true Alysse fashion. They have lived in New York for a while now, so I don’t get to see Alysse and Charlie interact on an everyday basis, but spending this weekend with them was SO much fun, and it’s comforting to see how good they are to one another. Charlie is patient – He’s the kind of guy who walks all the way back to the apartment while we get coffee so Alysse can have flat shoes to walk in instead of heels. He’s the kind of guy that doesn’t complain about it. He’s the kind of guy who stops by the store on the way home and grabs snacks for the 5 girls overtaking his apartment to visit Alysse. These are little things, but they matter. Charlie, thank you for loving my friend!

Now usually when someone says, “Let’s take pictures in the brightest of bright blinding parts of the day” (I’m paraphrasing) I usually say, “That lighting is the worst. let’s not” HOWEVER – we had one window of unbooked time on this NYC trip (and try saying “no” to Alysse Papkoff, I dare you.) so, we faced the sun on a building top (because we wanted to be extra close to it, ya know..) and made this engagement session happen! Charlie’s mom gave us access to her apartment rooftop and then we traveled through the west village and down to the waterfront to capture these images of Alysse and Charlie in the place they call home. I’m so thankful I got to do this. It really doesn’t feel like work when this is who you get to work for. Enjoy these, you guys!! I love you so much and I can’t wait to be back in your neck of the woods. WE’RE HAVING A WEDDING!!!

 

Shoutout to Amanda Miller for being the BEST photographers assistant for this shoot and  carrying all the things while simultaneously taking behind the scenes photos and video. ❤

 

 

 

Leave a comment